Skip to content
April 8, 2011 / Wave Tribe

Zero Packaging Initiative

I bought a new razor the other day and it took me 10 minutes to get the item out of the vacuum packaged plastic container. I nearly cut my hand on the rough edges and was displeased at myself and the manufacturer as I sauntered over to the trash can and placed the plastic wreckage into the can. Today I came across this statistic:

Over 150,000 tons of packaging are thrown out each day. That’s 54,750,000 tones per year—for what?

I understand that we have to make our presentations attractive for customers and also protect the product, but can’t we find alternative ways of doing this? I promise you that Wave Tribe will use less packaging on it’s gear and I also urge other companies to think twice before wrapping their goods in plastic.

Have you heard of plastic island?

I would love to see a zero packaging initiative; it starts with you.

Leave a Reply

